First Day in the City

I didn’t know what to expect on my first day, so I just went with the flow. I arrived to the office at around 9:10 in the morning, registered at the reception and made my way to the 25th floor. It was there where I met one of the colleagues at the firm, who then introduced me to my host. Everyone here is so friendly, and that’s not just the people at the firm it’s the New Yorkers in general.

Once I had been introduced to the Partners, Associates and Paralegals of the firm I was shown to my office. Now this was a surprise to me, because I was not expecting to have an office to myself, neither was I expecting a company phone! I sat down in the office and chair and looked at the beautiful view, which is a landscape of the tall buildings hovered by the sun. What I expected of the office, was exactly how it was the website pictures were a true reflection of the firm.

As I said, I didn’t know what to expect on my first day. However it ended up being very relaxing and quiet, which gave me the opportunity to do some reading up on the US law. At around lunchtime, 3 Attorney’s kindly took me out to lunch at the Hillstone located on the ground floor of the 32-floor building. The food was absolutely amazing, I had a chicken burger with fries – this sounds greasy and unhealthy but it was the complete opposite.

I must say, I was very nervous as to how I would feel being in the office i.e. whether it  would be overwhelming, hectic. But I can happily say that there was no need to be nervous because everyone has been so welcoming and I feel comfortable in my surroundings.

There isn’t much else to say in regards to my first day, the first week will be rather quiet however as time goes on I am sure it will become more hectic.For now, keep an eye out for my weekly updates and weekend blogs.

Anastasia.

download download download (2) download (1)

One thought on “First Day in the City

Leave a Reply

